Officers throughout Saturday’s SEC matchup between Auburn and Georgia seemingly fumbled on a name that would have resulted in a landing for the Tigers.
Late within the second quarter with Auburn on the Bulldogs’ 1-yard line, Tigers quarterback Jackson Arnold rushed into the tip zone, however the ball was punched out by Georgia’s protection simply because it crossed the aim line.
Although Arnold appeared to have possession as soon as the ball crossed over, referees dominated the play a fumble, with Georgia in the end recovering.
Amid all the confusion, Georgia defensive again Kyron Jones ran the ball again into their finish zone, however officers in the end referred to as the play useless regardless of him by no means touching the bottom.
The gaffe from the officers wound up angering each groups, as their respective followers every believed that they scored a landing.
“If it was a fumble, why didn’t the play proceed?” commentator Sean McDonough requested on the ESPN broadcast, although the printed workforce in the end thought a part of the ball crossed the ball line, which might have made it an Auburn landing. “He has the ball, he’s throughout the road. That’s a landing.”
If officers dominated the play a landing for Auburn, it might have given them a 16-0 lead, with an additional level pending.
However the name went in favor of Georgia, which was in a position to march down the sphere for a area aim simply earlier than halftime, making it a 10-3 recreation.
Support authors and subscribe to content
This is premium stuff. Subscribe to read the entire article.